Tuesday, June 9, 2020

La Porte, IN – The La Porte County Symphony Orchestra’s fiscal year ends on July 31, 2020. With that, they will be bidding farewell to the following seven members of their Board of Directors.

V. Michael Drayton – Partner – Drayton, Beige, Sirugo & Elliott, LLP

Howard Jones – Principal & Administrative Partner, NIES Engineering

Rachel Keesbury – Porter Physician Services

Jill Klingbeil – Trust Office Manager, Horizon Bank

Jane Langford – Retired Educator, La Porte Community School Corporation

Cecelia Largura – Environmental Strategy Manager, NIPSCO

Jaime Oss – Attorney, Huelat & Mack, P.C.

LCSO Executive Director, Tim King, stated: “It has been a privilege to work with these seven wonderful individuals. Each one brought an incredible talent to the LCSO Board of Directors and I will greatly miss working with them.  However, I know that the LCSO now has seven additional people in our community who will continue to spread the good word about our Orchestra and its value to La Porte County and beyond.”

Board Chairman, Leigh Morris, commended the retiring board members, noting that “this group of dedicated volunteers has helped guide the orchestra through some challenging times. He noted that V. Michael Drayton had served the orchestra for 34 years.  In addition to his role as Chairman of the Board for decades, Drayton spearheaded the development of the orchestra’s Drayton Family Children’s Concert, which has received national recognition. 

The LCSO has a Board of Directors consisting of 21 people with terms of three years with a possible extension. The LCSO is now entering its 48th season and is presently in the midst of a Music Director Search. In addition to their subscription season, The LCSO presents the annual Hoosier Star concert as well as the annual Holiday at the Pops concert. For more information, go to: